Wk4- Artist Conversation- Jenny Cho

Artist: Jenny Cho  Exhibition: INPROCCESS Media: Fibers, painting, sculpting  Gallery: CSULB, Marilyn Werby Gallery  Website: n/a Instagram: cxthxdx_gxrl

To begin, Jenny Cho had one of the best exhibitions from the others I had visited so far. I really liked her art. Cho is an undergraduate at Long Beach State, and this is her last semester here. Her work is inspired by feminism, as she is a feminist. It has to do with freedom of self, and expression, without being branded a name. I feel like if her art could talk, it would say something like, “love yourself” or “don’t be afraid.”

What is her art? I would say her art is in with the culture. The feminist movement has recently been enforced with a giant wave of millennials, and her art fits right in with this movement. With that in mind, this art seemed to appeal to many of the students in the class. She works with fibers, paints, sculpting, in order to create genuine pieces of art, that are also beautiful. One piece that really stood out to me, perhaps my favorite, is the one on the left titled, Neat Clean Dainty Charming. It is a snow globe inspired piece, which contains a mirror, a barbie doll head, a tiny book, and pieces of Cho’s hair. This piece surprised me because I had no idea it opened up. On the outside there are red heels inspired by “The Wizard of Oz,” and there is a door in front. The mirror on the inside is put in so that you can “see your own reflection.” And on the back of it, there is the word “slut” in blue. The tiny book has pictures of nipples to contrast how nipples are censored on the breast of women. This piece is very interesting to me because it says so much.

What is her art about? The piece I mentioned is about loving yourself, and seeing the inside of yourself, and even though people might brand you (“slut”), you have to stay true to what you believe in and who you are. That’s what it means to me. Her art is about very progressive ideas. In one painting, she shows us a fairy tale in which all the female characters were switched to male characters. And she covered this painting in a fabric that you can barely see through, and under it she made what is meant to be a face. She is conveying that many people have to hide who they are because they are afraid, but if time is used to take a closer look, then we can accept who we are.

What it means to me? Her art, to me, means to be free. It shows me that I could express myself in any way I want. I will be myself no matter what people call me, or how people see me. It tells me to be proud of who I am.

 

Leave a Reply

